Bitcoin Scaling Agreement at Consensus 2017

Digital Currency Group
2 min readMay 23, 2017

May 23, 2017

We agree to immediately support the following parallel upgrades to the bitcoin protocol, which will be deployed simultaneously and based on the original Segwit2Mb proposal:

  • Activate Segregated Witness at an 80% threshold, signaling at bit 4
  • Activate a 2 MB hard fork within six months

We are also committed to the research and development of technical mechanisms to improve signaling in the bitcoin community, as well as to put in place communication tools, in order to more closely coordinate with ecosystem participants in the design, integration, and deployment of safe solutions that increase bitcoin capacity.

We welcome all companies, miners, developers, and users to join us and help prepare bitcoin for the future.

The group of signed companies represents a critical mass of the bitcoin ecosystem. As of May 25, this group represents:

  • 58 companies located in 22 countries
  • 83.28% of hashing power
  • 5.1 billion USD monthly on chain transaction volume
  • 20.5 million bitcoin wallets

Separately, as of May 24, the following companies have committed to provide technical and engineering support to test and support the upgrade software, as well as to assist companies with preparing for the upgrades:

Abra|BitClub Network||BitFury|BitGo|Bitmain|BitPay Blockchain|Bloq|BTCC|Circle|Ledger|RSK Labs|Xapo

If you wish to dedicate technical and engineering support from your team, please let us know and we will include you in the list above.

Supporters as of May 25:

  • 1Hash (China)
  • Abra (United States)
  • ANX (Hong Kong)
  • /Chandler Guo (China)
  • BitClub Network (Hong Kong)
  • (St. Kitts & Nevis)
  • Bitex (Argentina)
  • bitFlyer (Japan)
  • Bitfury (United States)
  • Bitmain (China)
  • BitPay (United States)
  • BitPesa (Kenya)
  • BitOasis (United Arab Emirates)
  • Bitso (Mexico)
  • Bitwala (Germany)
  • (China)
  • Blockchain (UK)
  • Bloq (United States)
  • (China)
  • BTCC (China)
  • BTC.TOP (China)
  • (China)
  • Circle (United States)
  • Civic (United States)
  • Coinbase (United States)
  • (Phillipines)
  • CryptoFacilities (UK)
  • Decentral (Canada)
  • Digital Currency Group (United States)
  • F2Pool (China)
  • Filament (United States)
  • Gavin Andresen (United States)
  • Genesis Global Trading (United States)
  • Genesis Mining (Hong Kong)
  • GoCoin (Isle of Man)
  • Grayscale Investments (United States)
  • Guy Corem (Israel)
  • Jaxx (Canada)
  • Korbit (South Korea)
  • Luno (Singapore)
  • MONI (Finland)
  • Netki (United States)
  • OB1 (United States)
  • Purse (United States)
  • Ripio (Argentina)
  • Safello (Sweden)
  • SFOX (United States)
  • ShapeShift (Switzerland)
  • surBTC (Chile)
  • Unocoin (India)
  • Vaultoro (Germany)
  • Veem (United States)
  • ViaBTC (China)
  • Wayniloans (Argentina)
  • Xapo (United States)
  • Yours (United States)

Note: BitGo was erroneously included in this initial published list. This has since been corrected.



Digital Currency Group

We build and support bitcoin and blockchain companies by leveraging our insights, network, and access to capital